{[{name}]}

{[{description}]}

Set up and manage blocked time

Set up blocked time in your calendar to easily track when your team are on a break and prevent unwanted bookings during times that your team are busy. Learn how to create customized block time types to manage in your calendar. 

This guide covers:

Getting started

As the account owner, you can create and manage blocked time, including blocked time types. To allow team members to manage blocked time, grant them access by updating the following permissions settings: 

  • Manage own blocked time :
    Allows team members to create and edit their own blocked time.

  • Manage all blocked times:
    Allows team members to create and edit their own and everyone else's blocked time.

  • Manage blocked time types:
    Allow team members to create and edit blocked time types.

Creating a new blocked time type

Blocked time types are customizable templates that help you schedule breaks or admin tasks in the calendar. You can use the default options or create your own to fit your business needs.

To create blocked time types:

  1. Open Workspace settings, select Scheduling then Blocked times types.
  2. Click Add and enter the following details to add a blocked time type:

     

    - Type: Enter a title and select an emoji that accurately represents the blocked time type. For example, “Training”, “Coffee break”.

    - Duration: Use the dropdown to set a default duration.

    - Compensation: If you have Team Pay enabled, choose whether you want the blocked time to be Paid or Unpaid within the team members' total worked hours.

  3. Click Add.

TOP TIP: You can drag and drop the blocked time within your calendar to reschedule a single blocked time. If it’s part of a recurring series, the change will only apply to the selected blocked time, not the complete recurring series.

Managing blocked time types

Make adjustments or remove a blocked time type at any time. 

Edit blocked time types 

To edit blocked time types:  

  1. Open Workspace settings, select Scheduling then Blocked times types.
  2. On the relevant blocked time type, click Actions and select Edit.
  3. Change the blocked time type details as needed. 
  4. Click Save.

Delete blocked time types

To delete blocked time types:  

  1. Open Workspace settings, select Scheduling then Blocked times types.
  2. On the relevant blocked time type, click Actions and select Delete.
  3. Select Delete to reconfirm you want to proceed.

Adding blocked time

Adding blocked time to your calendar helps you organize breaks and periods when you and your team are unavailable.

To add blocked time to your calendar:  

  1. Open the Calendar
  2. Click Add and select Blocked time.
  3. Under the relevant team member, select the time slot you want to block.
  4. Choose a block time type or add a custom type and enter a Title. For example, “Meeting”.
  5. Use the dropdowns to adjust the date, duration and team member as needed. 
  6. To set the blocked time to repeat regularly, select your preference under Frequency.
  7. Add a Description for additional details about the blocked time.
  8. If you have added custom blocked time, check the box if you want to allow clients to book online during this time. This option is not available when a break type has been selected.
  9. Click Save.

Once the blocked time is set, your team will receive a conflict warning if they try to schedule an appointment during these times.

TOP TIP: Blocked time can also be added through the calendar by clicking on the team member's name or an available time slot and selecting Add blocked time.

Managing blocked time 

Blocked time is flexible and can be modified or deleted a blocked time type whenever you need to.

Edit blocked time 

To edit blocked time:  

  1. Open the Calendar.
  2. Click on the relevant blocked time.
  3. Change the blocked time details as needed. 
  4. Click Save.

Delete blocked time 

To delete blocked time:  

  1. Open the Calendar.
  2. Click on the relevant blocked time.
  3. Select the trash can icon and choose Delete to reconfirm you want to proceed.

Creating recurring blocked time

Save time by setting up a series of recurring blocked times for your team members. 

To create recurring blocked time:

  1. Open the Calendar.
  2. Create a new blocked time or select an existing one you wish to make recurring.
  3. Choose a block time type and use the dropdowns to adjust the date, duration and team member as needed. 
  4. Under Frequency, choose how often this time should repeat:
    - Every day: This can be used for things like daily lunch breaks.
    - Every week: This can be used for weekly occurrences like team meetings.

    - Every month: This can be used for monthly occurrences like monthly review sessions.

    - Custom: This can be used to set a unique recurring pattern like biweekly meetings.

  5. Use the dropdown to choose when the recurring schedule Ends:
    - On a specific date: To end after a selected date.

    - After: To end after the number of occurrences entered.

    - Never: For an ongoing schedule.
  6. Click Save.

Managing recurring blocked time

You can edit or delete the complete series of blocked time or just a single blocked time. 

Edit recurring blocked time 

To edit recurring blocked time:  

  1. Open the Calendar.
  2. Click on the blocked time you want to edit from the series.
  3. Change the blocked time details as needed.
  4. Click Save and choose how you want to apply these changes:

    - Update this blocked time only

    - Update this and future blocked times

    - Update all blocked time

  5. Click Update to confirm.

TOP TIP: You can drag and drop the blocked time within your calendar to reschedule a single blocked time. If it’s part of a recurring series, the change will only apply to the selected blocked time, not the complete recurring series.

Delete recurring blocked time 

To delete recurring blocked time:  

  1. Open the Calendar.
  2. Click on the blocked time you want to cancel.
  3. Select the trash can icon and choose the relevant deletion option:

    - Delete this blocked time only

    - Delete this and future blocked times

    - Delete all blocked time
  4. Click Delete to reconfirm you want to proceed.

FAQs

Q. Can I accept online bookings during the blocked time?
Online bookings can only be enabled during custom blocked time. If you select a blocked time type, you won't have the option to enable online booking during that period.


Q. How do I change the details of just one of the blocked times in a recurring series?
Select the blocked time from your calendar, make the necessary adjustments, and choose Update this blocked time only before saving.


Q. What happens if there's a scheduling conflict with blocked time?
Your team will see a conflict warning if they schedule an appointment during a blocked time.


Q. Can I delete only one instance of a recurring blocked time?
Yes, you can choose to delete just one blocked time in a recurring series. 

Was this article helpful?

Can’t find your answer?

Get in touch and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

Contact us